Wednesday, October 28, 2009

According to composer David Sartor "Reveries (2007) depicts a soul's final reflections on a rich life filled with both triumph and regret. The work concludes with the soul's last cry heavenward, followed by the incredible homecoming and overwhelming peace of being joined with God". Hear and see the world premiere performance of Reveries by the Burlington Chamber Orchestra with conductor Michael Hopkins . . . one of this week's FEATURED NEW MUSIC VIDEOS.

Considered by many to be the most important composer of the 20th century, Russian-American Igor Stravinsky revitalized European music tradition with his irregular rhythms, dissonant voicings and life-long willingness to experiment. Beyond his famed ballets and orchestral suites like The Firebird and The Rite of Spring, he was also a renowned conductor, pianist, teacher and collaborator with many of the great artists of his era. In Igor Stravinsky: Composer, film maker Janos Darvas has created an extraordinary portrait, woven from a voluminous legacy of fascinating film interviews and performances, to reveal one of the great musical minds. See excerpts from the film ... this week's COMPOSER PORTRAIT.

... And for those who haven't fully explored the Pytheas Center's website, please check out COMPOSERS SPEAK ON THE WEB. Hear and see composers talk about their life and music using our ever expanding online video and streaming audio sources. Fascinating portraits of contemporary music's creative artists.

Choreographer Patrick Delcroix describes Adrift in Softness (2007) as an "essentially abstract piece playing with the idea of a central character drifting between different states of consciousness. Within this condition of reverie, reality is suspended and free-flowing thoughts and memories blend into each other, receding as mysteriously as they appear". Watch an excerpt from this beautiful dance work (with music by Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto) . . . this week's DANSES PYTHEUSES.

Iranian born Behzad Ranjbaran’s music has been described as having "qualities of inherent beauty and strong musical structure that make it a satisfying musical entity". Hear Janis Bukowski perform his Ballade for Solo Contrabasse (1999), commissioned by the International Society of Bassists . . . FROM THE PYTHEAS ARCHIVES.

Explore, Listen and Enjoy!
Vinny Fuerst
Pytheas Center for Contemporary Music

No comments:

Post a Comment